May 29th, 2019 | Posted in News

Class of 2019 Graduation Awards

Valedictorian: Riley Marzola

Salutatorian: Evan Shertzer

Brooks Spirit of Service Scholarship Award: Tayla Stewart

Outstanding Seniors: Sarah Franker and Evan Shertzer

Principal’s Award: Riley Marzola and Connor Wright  

Mission Statement Award: Anna Shertzer, Josh Young, Tayla Stewart, and Colton Smith

Class of 2019 Department Awards
English-Riley Marzola
World Language-Carlos Ventura
Social Studies-Julie Reise
Science-Colton Smith
Mathematics-Andrew Stephens
Fine Arts-Riley Marzola
Religion-Evan Shertzer

McCormick Unsung Hero Award
Sarah Franker

Athletic Awards
Sarah Franker, Female Senior Athlete
Connor Wright, Male Senior Athlete
Evan Shertzer, Scholar Athlete
Anna Shertzer, Christus Victor
Joshua Ogbenna, Christus Victor
Evan Shertzer,  C. Markland Kelly

First Financial Scholarship Recipient
Carlos Ventura

Maryland Delegate Scholarship Recipient
Tayla Stewart

UMBC Meyerhoff Scholarship Program Nominee
Joshua Ogbenna

State Merit Scholastic Award
Riley Marzola, Jullian Perez, and Evan Shertzer

The Class of 2019 was accepted to the following institutions of higher learning:

Alabama State UniversityAlbright CollegeAlderson Broaddus UniversityAlvernia University
Arcadia UniversityBecker CollegeBennett CollegeBethany College
Cabrinia UniversityCalifornia University of PACedarville UniversityChamplain College
Charleston Southern UniversityChristopher Newport UniversityClark Atlanta UniversityCoastal Carolina University
College of CharlestonColumbia CollegeConcordia University TexasCoppin State University
Culinary Institute of America Hyde ParkDePaul UniversityEast Carolina UniversityEastern University
Franklin Pierce UniversityFrostburg State UniversityGeorge Mason UniversityGoucher College
Grambling UniversityGrand Canyon UniversityHampton UniversityHigh Point University
Hood CollegeHoward UniversityIndiana University of PAJames Madison University
Johnson and Wales UniversityLincoln UniversityLongwood UniversityLoyola University of Maryland
Lycoming CollegeLynchburg CollegeMarshall UniversityMarymount University
McDaniel CollegeMessiah CollegeMillersville UniversityMonmouth University
Morehouse CollegeMorgan State UniversityMount St. Mary’s UniversityNorfolk State University
Old Dominion University Palm Beach Atlantic UniversityPenn StatePoint Park University
Praire View A&M UniversityRhodes CollegeRowan UniversityRutgers University
Sacred Heart UniversitySaint Anselm CollegeSalisbury UniversitySamford University
Stevenson UniversityTowson UniversityTrinity University DCUMBC
University of ConnecticutUniversity of DelawareUniversity of MarylandUniversity of Maryland Eastern Shore
University of Mount UnionUniversity of North Carolina CharlotteUniversity of PittsburghVirginia State University
Virginia University of LynchburgWagner CollegeWashington CollegeWashington and Jefferson College
West Virginia UniversityWest Virginia Wesleyan CollegeWheeling Jesuit UniversityWidener University
Xavier University CincinattiXavier University of LouisianaYork College

The following seniors will play sports in college next year:

  • Dylan Arthur, Point Park University, Soccer
  • Keyon Asgari, Alderson Broaddus University, Football
  • Charlie Byers, Fullerton College, Football
  • Nyle Clements, West Virginia Wesleyan College, Football
  • Sarah Franker, Eastern University, Lacrosse
  • Colin Glenn, University of Mount Union, Football
  • Riley Marzola, Rhodes College, Field Hockey
  • Rodney McInnis, Virginia University of Lynchburg, Football
  • James Mickens, Santa Rosa College, Football 
  • Jhymir Pearson, University of Mount Union, Football 
  • Cameron Weng, Wagner College, Football
  • Nimrod Westcott, Alderson Broaddus University, Football 
  • Connor Wright, Arcadia University, Soccer